Metallic Mermaid

More often than not, jewellery invokes memories and reminds the wearer about certain times in their lives. Whether it’s an engagement/wedding ring reminding some of the happy times, or a necklace worn in remembrance, many simple trinkets have stories behind it.

Now my memories are not really about a piece of jewellery as such, but more about a shop. Metallic Mermaid in Plettenberg Bay is that shop. Just thinking about it now takes me back to when I was much younger, saving up all my hard earned pocket money so that when Decemeber holidays rolled around I could go and buy beautiful treasures.

Metallic Mermaid - a pandora's box  for a jewellery addict like moi..

Metallic Mermaid – a pandora’s box for a jewellery addict like me..

This shop went a long way to fueling my passion for jewellery as when you walk in there is just jewellery EVERYWHERE! Reminds me a little of a scratch patch (remember those?!) as you had to look between all sorts of necklaces and chains and just.. things.. in order to find the perfect purchase.

IMG_0106

IMG_0104

I was in Plett again these holidays and found some wonderful pieces that need to be shared:

I thought these were very cute, but a little too costume jewellery-ish for to to actually buy it. R79.

I thought these were very cute, but a little too costume jewellery-ish for to to actually buy it – R79.

LOVED this cuff and regret not buying it.. Looked really stunning on. Like the chop I am I didn't get the price for this one.

LOVED this cuff and regret not buying it.. Looked really stunning on. Like the chop I am I didn’t get the price for this one.

Seeing necklaces similar to this one around so thought I would try one on - R179

Seeing necklaces similar to this one around so thought I would try one on – R179

Another pair of cutesy earrings - R69

Another pair of cutesy earrings – R69

Thought these were cute too and were only R98!

Thought these were pretty too and were only R98!

I am a sucker for rings! This one cost R269.

I am a sucker for rings! This one cost R269.

I found that when I went this year however that their was much more ‘cheapie’ things and very clunky jewellery that didn’t appeal to me at all but after spending some time searching through everything, there are some gorgeous bargains to be had. If you want to find out more, hop over here.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

