Veuve Clicquot Masters Polo

I learnt two things on Saturday at the beautiful polo fields of Val de Vie.. 1. I need to take more photos of people and their beautiful jewellery at an event (I get sooo intimidated to walk up to people and ask for a shot of their earrings!) and 2. that a girl can never have enough Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream and Veuve Clicquot Champagne.

Yes, it was a tough day..

Yes, it was a tough day..

I was very excited for the event (so much so that I had planned by outfit a few days in advance. Ok fine, when i say days I mean weeks.) I was lucky enough to have won a blowdry and mani from Marios Hair Company so looked and felt very glam! I was wearing a royal blue dress so paired it with my Metallic Mermaid gold statement butterfly necklace..

Necklace is from Metallic Mermaid, Ring and Earrings are stolen from my sister so not quite sure where they are from and the bracelet is Louis Vuitton.

Necklace is from Metallic Mermaid, ring and earrings are stolen from my sister so not quite sure where they are from and the bracelet is Louis Vuitton.

I know I look slightly naked in this pic but my dress was a one shoulder.. just FYI.

I know I look slightly naked in this pic but my dress was a one shoulder.. just FYI. Also, the big smile is because the Elizabeth Arden girls had just come round with enough 8 hour to last me through winter. WIN!

There was loads of beautiful jewellery on display, much of which were statement necklaces and big earrings. Karisa, from My love Affair with Cape Town and Ritza from Luxo Blog were both wearing gorgeous earrings.

Karisa's boyfriend bought these for her. This guy has style!

Karisa’s boyfriend bought these for her. This guy has style!

Isn't she beautiful? Turns out Mario did her hair too - snap! (however, she has way more hair than I do..)

Isn’t she beautiful? Turns out Mario did her hair too – snap! (however, she has way more hair than I do..)

Necklaces also seemed to steal the show, as can be seen below.

This was a seriaaaas statement piece!

This was a seriaaaas statement piece!

The gorgeous Leigh from Lipgloss is My Life also wore gold jewellery and had the most beautiful ring on.. Because it was so hot, the servers were walking around with Hagen Daaz ice cream in cute paper cones that matched Leigh’s bright pink nails..

How much do you love the watch too?

How much do you love the watch too?

But sometimes, simple is the way to go. Often outfits can be made by jewellery and then there are other times when all the jewellery needs to do is enhance the dress. Chelle, the brains behind DearDeer, who was wearing an amazing leopard print frock, got this just right!

Love that Cehelle is rocking the gold ring finger nail polish!

Love that Cehelle is rocking the gold ring finger nail polish!

I managed to watch a bit of the game, went onto the field for the traditional ‘stomping’ of the field (because the field gets pretty churned with the horses hooves, the crowd is encouraged to go and ‘stomp’ the earth back into place) and stroked a horse who had shinier hair than I could ever hope for! All in all – a good day at the polo!

Leave a Reply

