Bow Peep

A Cape Town jewellery label I have come to love and wear is Bow Peep. I first spotted Leila’s jewellery at a market and instantly fell in love with her pieces. But it was the end of the month so I had to leave sad an empty handed. I then signed up to her newsletter so that I could buy a few things at the next market she was at but, unbeknown to me, she had a competition for people who had signed up to her newsletter and I won! Now, I never win anything so this was a really big deal for me. Also, I hadn’t started the blog yet so I really won legitimately. Not because I would feature her stuff, but just because I like her work.

A black and white shot of a few pairs of earrings.

A black and white shot of a few pairs of her earrings.

p1040870_630W

How cute is this little camera pendant on a silver chain?

And like her work I do indeed! Her label has just turned two, a very big deal for a jewellery label in South Africa and I managed to get her to answer a few of my questions..

How did you become a jewellery designer?

I have been making accessories for years, I used to things for myself or for friends. I started thinking about selling my accessories towards the end of 2010 and then started Bow Peep in March 2011. Last year I started working with silver.

An example of her cute silver button necklaces.

An example of her cute silver button necklaces.

All Bow Peep accessories use an element of fabric and Leila is able to get her inspiration from the colours and patterns of the fabric.

How cute are these earrings? And the fabric is so different making for a set of very unique earrings.

How cute are these earrings? And the fabric is so different making for a set of very unique earrings.

What is your favourite piece of jewellery that you have made?

I worked for a long time to design my button necklaces, it took ages to make a prototype, have it cast and manufactured but I’m really happy with the results.

A few of her pendent necklaces.

Leila’s favourite pieces!

Do you ever have days when you are completely uninspired?

Yes, all the time. I try and use that time to work on marketing Bow Peep or doing admin.

She even has the most wonderful bowtie range - for girls and guys.

She even has the most wonderful bowtie range – for girls and guys.

Leila knows her customers well and that they are on the look out for pretty things. She is always on the look out for floral print fabrics but keeps in mind that she also has customers who like simpler more geometric patterned fabric.

Floral earrings. She's right you know, her customers (read: me) do like these pretty things.

Heart fabric earrings. She’s right, her customer do like these pretty things and she is on point with the fabrics she chooses.

The eclectic, colourful and simply designed jewellery is sure to get noticed and can be bought from the Bow Peep online store (here), Hello Pretty (here) or various retailers. Like her on Facebook here.

How gorgeous are her tote bags too? I won one of these and wear it everywhere.

How gorgeous are her tote bags too? I won one of these and wear it everywhere.

psst.. Bow Peep is currently having a birthday sale until the 7 April where if you order anything from the online store or the Bow Peep store on Hello Pretty, you will receive a free gift with your purchase! So go, go, go!

And of course, I had to throw a ring in. Just because this is the one that I won and also because I have a slight ring obsession.

And of course, I had to throw a ring in. Just because this is the one that I won and also because I have a slight ring obsession.

How cute is this?

How cute is this?

 

Leave a Reply

