The Jewellery at the 2013 Met Ball

So the Met Ball has been and gone and most of you have probably seen the dresses, who was the best dressed, who just messed up totally (ahem Kim Kardashian) but not much has been said about the jewellery. The Costume Institute Gala threw the event for the ‘PUNK: Chaos to Couture’ exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC. I like that the theme was punk and I expected to see lots of studs, spikes and less sparkly bling on the carpet than usual. But some stars just decided that they wouldn’t dress to the theme (lame) and looked as if they were off to the Oscars.

My best jewellery of the event was seen on the following stars;

Cara-Delevigne-jewellery

Cara Delevigne looked amazing in her spiked jacket but I loved the ear cuffs and layered necklaces. I’m not normally a fan of mixing silver and gold but she makes this work.

Rita-ora-clutch

Rita Ora brought the rings out to play. Which I like. I like a whole lot.

embedded_Nicole_Richie_MET_Ball_2013_Hairstyle

As much as Nicole Richie’s hair looks like a granny’s, the earcuff puts her on my best jewellery list. LOVE it and this makes me want to go out and buy my own.

katy-perry-david-yurman

YES! How much do you love Katy Perry going on Dolce and Gabbanna? (See my post here). Love that she wore David Yurman accessories and rocked it. SHe could have walked straight off the catwalk!

Sienna-hair

And of course Sienna Miller just kicked it out the park. The hair accessory and the ear cuffs and stack. She wins for me. Hands down.

And then there was some jewellery that was alright, not amazing, but alright.

BlakeLivelyMetBall

Blake Lively looked gorgeous and these earrings are lovely but the furthest from punk you could get. So as much as I love them, they would not have been my choice for this event.

Miley Cyrus also had a bad hair day but I had to show you her full length finger ring. I enjoy it although I am not quite sure how practical it will be in real life.

Miley Cyrus also had a bad hair day but I had to show you her full length finger ring. I enjoy it although I am not quite sure how practical it will be in real life.

Mary-Kate-Olsen-Met-Ball-2013-070513

Mary Kate Olsen wore two gorgeous necklaces. But they don’t go together as far as I’m concerned. Also, she looks less than happy to be there. I will happily take the cross necklace though.

And then there was just the downright horrible.

designer tabitha simmons

Designer Tabitha Simmons. The idea was there and she was so close. But the earrings are hopelessly too big. Love the crown. But the earrings just take it over to the questionable side.

Diane-Kruger-Joshua-Jackson-Met-Ball-2013-070513

Diane Kruger kept the accessories to a minimum but I appreciate the cuffs. A little clunky but then again it’s fits the theme so I would give her a 6/10.

jennifer morrison

Jennifer Morrison stuck to the trend of wearing rings on every finger however these creepy crawlies give me the heebie jeebies! Looks awesome if you are not arachnophobic.

jessica parker

I don’t know about Jessica Parker’s head piece. Yes it was theme-inspired but I can’t get away from the fact that it would have looked more at home on a Las Vegas showgirl.

JessicaAlbaMetBall

Jessica Alba did something different with her earrings here. The jury is still out on whether it looks great or makes her look like an alien.

Solange-earrings

Look, now I love Solange. But the earrings and the event did not go together. At all.

And there you have it. What jewellery did you love? Think I have missed anyone out? Let me know below!

[Images from here, here, here, here and here]

Leave a Reply

